You are here

Henry L. Alder Award

In January 2003 the MAA established the Henry L. Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Beginning College or University Mathematics Faculty Member to honor beginning college or university faculty whose teaching has been extra ordinarily successful and whose effectiveness in teaching undergraduate mathematics is shown to have influence beyond their own classrooms. Each year at most three college or university teachers are to be honored with this national award and are to receive $1,000 and a certificate of recognition from the MAA. Award recipients will be expected to make a presentation at MAA MathFest. Nominations for the award may be made by an individual or by an MAA section. Nominations for the Alder award are due to the secretary of the MAA ( by October 1 of each year.

Guidelines and nomination forms that can be filled in electronically for the Alder Awards.

List of Recipients


R. Abraham Edwards, Lyman Briggs College, Michigan State University

Alison Lynch, California State University, Monterey Bay

Andrea Arauza Rivera, California State University, East Bay


Vinodh Kumar Chellamuthu, Utah Tech University

Lauren Keough, Grand Valley State University

Brittany Stephenson, Lewis University


Andrew Penland, Western Carolina University

Alexander Diaz-Lopez, Villanova University

Kim Seashore, San Francisco State University


Selenne Bañuelos, California State University Channel Islands (CSUCI)

Kenneth Monks, Front Range Community College- Boulder County Campus (BCC)

Brandy Wiegers, Central Washington University


PJ Couch, Lamar University

Pamela Harris, Williams College

Alicia Prieto Langarica, Youngstown State University


Chad Awtrey, Elon University

David Clark, Grand Valley State University

Mohamed Omar, Harvey Mudd College


Steven Klee, Seattle University

Mary Beisiegel, Oregon State University


Dandrielle Lewis, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Jana Gevertz, College of New Jersey

Benjamin GalluzzoShippensburg University


Allison Henrich, Seattle University

Patrick Rault, State University of New York at Geneseo

Talithia Williams, Harvey Mudd College


Dominic Klyve, Central Washington University

Lara Pudwell, Valparaiso University


Kumer Das, Lamar University

Christopher Storm, Adelphi University

Rachel Levy, Harvey Mudd College


Kathryn Leonard, California State University Channel Islands

Susan Martonosi, Harvey Mudd College

Michael Posner, Villanova University


Alissa S. Crans, Loyola Marymount University

Sarah Eichhorn, University of California, Irvine (UCI)

Sam Vandervelde, St. Lawrence University


Nathan Carter, Bentley University

Kathleen Fowler, Clarkson University


Scott Annin, California State University at Fullerton

Sommer Gentry, The United States Naval Academy

Jennifer McLoud-Mann, University of Texas at Tyler


David Brown, Ithaca College

Jacqueline A. Jensen, Sam Houston State University

Katherine Socha, St. Mary's College of Maryland


Timothy Chartier, Davidson College

Satyan Devadoss, Williams College

Darren Narayan, Rochester Institute of Technology


Lesley Ward, Harvey Mudd College

Garikai (Kai) Campbell, Swarthmore College

Christopher N. Swanson, Ashland University


Matthew DeLong, Taylor University

Sarah Greenwald, Appalachian State University

Laura Taalman, James Madison University


Francis Edward Su, Harvey Mudd College

Zvezdelina Stankova, Mills College