You are here

Edyth May Sliffe Awards

The Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School are given annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers who have done outstanding work to motivate students in mathematics by participating in one of the MAA American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) competitions.

What is the award? More than 20 competition managers receive recognition from the MAA AMC program and a $500 stipend, including recognition on the MAA website and social media. Award recipients will also receive free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in 2024. This is an annual conference for mathematics education and research that draws mathematicians and math enthusiasts from across the country.

Who is eligible for nomination? Middle or high school teachers who play a crucial role in preparing students to participate in the MAA American Mathematics Competitions. Administrators or instructors who are not teachers at a public or private school are not eligible; in particular, principals, superintendents, headmasters, college professors, Math Circle directors, and summer camp directors who are not primarily middle or high school teachers are not eligible.

Additionally, teachers who won the Sliffe Award previously are eligible if three years have passed since winning their awards. There must be a three-year gap between award cycles. 

Who can submit a nomination? At least two individuals must nominate a teacher. The nominators may be:

  • A student, parent, fellow teacher, associate, school volunteer, or school administrator. (If two people co-sign this type of nomination, it counts as two nominations).

  • Teachers can nominate themselves if someone else submits an additional nomination on their behalf. A self-nomination with a co-signer only counts as one nomination.

What criteria is the committee looking for? It is important to share the teacher's effect on students’ interest and participation in mathematics through preparation for the MAA American Mathematics Competitions. Providing examples of additional evidence can strengthen a nomination letter, such as:

  • Improvement in AMC scores from past years;

  • An increase in the number of students participating in the AMC 8 or AMC 10/12 competitions;

  • An increase in the number of students who have gone on to participate in invitational competitions, such as AIME and USAMO;

  • Efforts to encourage students to pursue mathematical training outside the classroom through math clubs, coaching students, providing extra mathematical training materials, etc.

How can I submit a nomination?

Please fill out the nomination form by September 30, 2023: 2023 Sliffe Award Nomination Form



Amy Hazelton, Beachwood Middle School, Beachwood, OH
Anne Crumm, Ralph Cadwallader Middle Schooll, Las Vegas, NV
Bee Lim, Ingraham High School, Seattle, Washington
Cameo Lutz, Riverton High School, Riverton, Utah
Davut Yildiz, Pioneer Academy, Wayne, New Jersey
Dr. Chuck Garner, Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, Conyers, GA
Dr. Joanna Papakonstantinou, Episcopal High School, Houston, Texas
Edrick Lin, Saint Clare School, San Jose, CA
Emily Larsen, East Ridge High School, Woodbury, MN
Ismail Marul, Coral Academy of Science Las Vegas-Sandy Ridge Campus, Henderson, NV
Jennifer Smith, Boulan Park Middle School, Troy, Michigan
John Daniel, Good Shepherd Lutheran School, Novato, CA
John Walter, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School, Richmond, Virginia
Marilupe Hren, Dulles High School, Sugar Land, Texas 
Mark Norton, Northwest Junior High School, Coralville, Iowa
Michelle Binder, Pizitz Middle School, Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Movina Seepersaud, East-West School of International Studies, Flushing, New York
Renee Zacks, Detroit Country Day School, Beverly Hills, MI
Sema Duzyol, Fulton Science Academy, Alpharetta, Georgia
Shelby Aaberg, Scottsbluff High School and Bluffs Middle School, Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Tatiana Ter-Saakov, Main Line Classical Academy, Bryn Mawr, PA
Tim Chavel, Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy, Charlotte, NC
Warren Tucker, Hanover High School, Hanover, NH
William Lin, Yorba Linda Middle School, Yorba Linda, CA

The full list of past Edyth May Sliffe winners can be accessed here.