You are here

D. E. Shaw Group AMC 8 Awards & Certificates

D. E. Shaw Group Logo

D. E. Shaw Group AMC 8 Awards & Certificates

The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) received support from the D. E. Shaw Group, a global investment, and technology development firm. The funds will support 5 awards and at least 150 certificates, honoring the top-performing young women students on the MAA American Mathematics Competition (AMC) 8. The five top scorers on the AMC 8 in the U.S. will split the D. E. Shaw Group AMC 8 Award of $5,000. Additionally, the five top scorers on the AMC 8 from U.S. young women from each of the 29 MAA Sections will receive a D. E. Shaw Group AMC 8 Certificate of Excellence in honor of their performance on the AMC 8 exam.

Important Note: To be considered for the awards and certificates, you must self-identify and select "Female" for the Gender question during registration.

Interested in supporting this initiative or other programs at the MAA, learn how you can get involved or email us at

Find this year's D. E. Shaw Group winners here.