You are here

MAA Award for Inclusivity

The MAA Award for Inclusivity was established in 2019. This award is the Association’s recognition of the importance of its core value of Inclusivity in building a healthy and vibrant mathematical community where all are welcome and encouraged to flourish.  The MAA Award for Inclusivity will be awarded annually to a person or persons (not a program) who has performed significant, sustained work to broaden access to mathematics.  The award may be made based on one or several activities that exemplify inclusivity and embrace and affirm diversity.  The contribution should be such as to influence the community and culture of mathematics or mathematical education in a significant and positive way on a national scale or have that potential.

Submit a completed nomination form and attachments to Cynthia Wyels at by October 1.

MAA Award for Inclusivity Regulations

Nomination Form



Rebecca E. Garcia, Sam Houston State University


Candice Price, Smith College


William "Bill" Hawkins, University of the District of Columbia and the MAA Office of Minority Participation


William Yslas Vélez, University of Arizona


Sylvia Trimble Bozeman, Spelman College