You are here

Putnam Competition Individual and Team Winners

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is the preeminent undergraduate mathematics competition in the United States and Canada. Each year on the first Saturday in December, more than 4,000 students spend two 3-hour sessions solving 12 problems. Prizes are awarded to the participants with the highest scores and to the mathematics departments of the five institutions whose teams obtain the highest rankings. Cash prizes for the top five teams range from $5,000 to $25,000. Cash prizes for the top five students honored as Putnam Fellows are $2,500 each, and other top students also receive prizes for their performance on the Putnam Mathematical Competition.

The Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize was established in 1992 to be "awarded periodically to a woman whose performance on the Competition has been deemed particularly meritorious." Recent winners of the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize have received $1,000.

Over the years, many of the winners of the Putnam competition have become distinguished mathematicians. Several of them have received the Fields Medal, and several have won the Nobel Prize in Physics.

For additional information, visit Follow MAA on Twitter for Putnam results and announcements: @maanow.

Click here to access the 84th Announcement of Winners, which includes Putnam Fellows, winning teams participants earning honorable mentions, teams earning honorable mentions, and the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize winner.

Click here to access the press release for the 84th William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition results.

Below are the winning teams and Putnam fellows of the most recent edition of the competition. The complete list of previous Putnam winners is also available. 



1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2. Princeton University
3. Harvard University
4. Stanford University
4. University of California, Los Angeles


Andrew Gu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michael Ren, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Edward Wan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shengtong Zhang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Zhu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Dain Kim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology