You are here

USA Mathematical Olympiad: 2009 USAMO Winners

USA Mathematical Olympiad: 2009 USAMO Winners

May 12, 2009

This year, 525 outstanding high school students qualified for the 2009 USA Mathematical Olympiad (USAMO). On April 28-29, these students tackled a challenging, six-question exam, distributed via the Internet to their schools. The 12 winners are (in alphabetical order):

John Berman, John T. Hoggard High School, Wilmington, North Carolina.

Sergei Bernstein, Belmont High School, Belmont, Massachusetts.

Wenyu Cao, Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachusetts.

Robin Cheng, Pinetree Secondary School, Coquitlam, British Columbia.

Vlad Firoiu, Westford Academy, Westford, Massachusetts.

Eric Larson, South Eugene High School, Eugene, Oregon.

Delong Meng, Baton Rouge Magnet High School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Qinxuan Pan, Thomas Sprigg Wootton High School, Rockville, Maryland.

Panupong Pasupat, Deerfield Academy, Deerfield, Massachusetts.

Toan Phan, Taft School, Watertown, Connecticut.

David Rush, Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire.

David Yang, Homeschool, Walnut, California.

An awards ceremony for the 12 USAMO winners will be held in Washington, D.C. at both the MAA Headquarters and the U.S. Department of State building on Monday, June 8.

The 12 USAMO winners will take the team selection test (TST) to try to qualify for the U.S. International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) team between June 9-16. The six students with highest combined USAMO and TST scores will compete in the 2009 IMO in Bremen, Germany on July 10-22. Most of these students will then spend three weeks this summer at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln training for the IMO.

The USAMO is the pinnacle event in the sequence of increasingly challenging mathematical contests administered by the MAA's American Mathematics Competitions program. More than 220,000 worldwide took the first contest (AMC 10 and/or AMC 12). More than 10,000 were invited to compete in the second contest (AIME), and just 525 of these participants made it to the highly selective and prestigious USAMO.

News Date: 
Tuesday, May 12, 2009