You are here

Prizes Announced at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Atlanta, GA

Prizes Announced at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Atlanta, GA

MAA Prizes

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics:
Gerald L. Alexanderson
Deborah Hughes-Hallett
Aparna Higgins

Section Certificate of Meritorious Service:
Charles Cable, Allegheny Section
Jon Scott, MD-DC-VA Section
Barbara Osofsky, New Jersey Section
Roy Deal, Jr., Oklahoma-Arkansas Section
Ernie Solheid, Southern California-Nevada Section

Beckenbach Book Prize:
James S. Tanton

AMS Prizes

Bocher Memorial Prize:
Frank Merle
Book Prize:
William P. Thurston
Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory:
Peter Sarnak
Levi L. Conant Prize:
Allen Knutson and Terence Tao
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement:
Israel M. Gelfand
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition:
Branko Grunbaum
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research:
Robert P. Langlands
Ruth Little Sattler Prize in Mathematics:
Svetlana Jitomirskaya
Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize:
Harold M. Edwards


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate:
Reid Barton
Honorable Mention to Po-Shen Loh

Joint Policy Board for Mathematics Communications Award:
Barry Cipra

AWM Prizes

Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education:
Susanna S. Epp
Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman:
Melody Chan

Blumenthal Trust for the Advancement of Mathematics Prize

Leonard M. and Eleanor B. Blumenthal Award for the Advancement of Research in Pure Mathematics:
Manjul Bhargava

News Date: 
Friday, January 7, 2005