You are here

MAA Presents Awards for Outstanding Mathematical Research, Writing, and Teaching

Each year the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) honors outstanding individuals for their contributions to the community in research, writing, and teaching. The MAA will present awards to the following mathematicians for their professional accomplishments next month at the Joint Mathematics Meetings (JMM):

Euler Book Prize
Jordan Ellenberg (University of Wisconsin-Madison) is the recipient of the 2016 Euler Book Prize for an outstanding book in mathematics: How Not to Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking. His book is a New York Times bestseller that is “easy to follow, humorously presented,” said Mario Livio in his review for The Wall Street Journal. “It will help you realize that mathematical reasoning permeates our lives,” said Livio.

AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student
The youngest award recipient at JMM is Amol Aggarwal, a student at Harvard University, who will receive the 2016 Morgan Prize. Aggarwal is recognized for his outstanding research in combinatorics, publishing four papers in the Journal of Combinatorial Theory, Series A, European Journal of Combinatorics, Discrete Mathematics, and Electronic Journal of Combinatorics.

Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics
The MAA’s most prestigious award for service to the international mathematical community will be awarded to George Berzsenyi (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology), founder of the USA mathematical Talent Search (USAMTS) which identifies mathematical talent and develop students’ problem solving skills.

“It is my hope that this recognition will encourage other mathematicians as well to devote their efforts to talent search and, just as importantly, to talent development,” said Berzsenyi. Berzsenyi is internationally recognized for his problem-writing skills, and has served on the MAA mathematical competitions committees, and on the Problems Committee at the 2001 International Mathematical Olympiad in Washington, D.C.

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics
Three distinguished instructors will also be recognized for teaching excellence, creating challenging curriculum, and mentoring undergraduate research projects. The awardees are Satyan Devadoss (Williams College), Tyler Jarvis (Brigham Young University), and Glen Van Brummelen (Quest University).

Awards will be presented on Thursday, January 7, 2016 at the Joint Prize Session at the JMM in Seattle.

The JMM is the largest mathematics meeting in the world, put on by the MAA and the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

See the MAA Prize Booklet for JMM 2016 here (pdf). Find out more about all MAA Awards here.

About MAA
The Mathematical Association of America is the largest professional society that focuses on mathematics accessible at the undergraduate level. Formed in 1915, association members include university, college, and high school teachers; graduate and undergraduate students; pure and applied mathematicians; computer scientists; statisticians; and many others in academia, government, business, and industry who are interested in the mathematical sciences.

About AMS
Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, today the American Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.

News Date: 
Thursday, December 17, 2015