You are here

2015 MAA Awards Recipients Announced

The MAA is pleased to announce awards to be presented at  MAA MathFest 2015August 5-8 in Washington, DC., our Centennial meeting. Awards will be presented during the MAA Prize Session on Thursday, August 6, 2015, 11:30 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. Winners of the Alder Award will present their work on Friday, August 7, 2015, 2:00 - 3:20 p.m.

The Mathematical Association of America has selected the 2015 recipients for the following awards:

Carl B. Allendoerfer Award

  • Daniel Heath (Pacific Lutheran University) - “Straightedge and Compass Constructions in Spherical Geometry”, Mathematics Magazine, 87:5 (2014), pp. 350-359.

  • Andrew Beveridge (Macalester College) and Stan Wagon (Macalester) - “The Sorting Hat Goes to College”, Mathematics Magazine, 87:4 (2014), pp. 243-251.

Trevor Evans Award

  • Heidi Hulsizer (Hampden-Sydney College) - “A ‘Mod’ern Mathematical Adventure in Call of Duty: Black Ops”, Math Horizons, (February, 2014), pp. 12–15.

Halmos-Ford Award

  • Daniel Velleman (Amherst College) - "A Drug-Induced Random Walk", The American Mathematical Monthly, 121;4 (2014), pp. 299-317.

  • Erwan Brugalle (École Polytechnique in Paris) and Kristin Shaw (University of Toronto) - “A Bit of Tropical Geometry", The American Mathematical Monthly, 121;7 (2014), pp. 563-589.

  • Allison Henrich (Seattle University) and Louis H. Kauffman (University of Illinois-Chicago) - “Unknotting Unknots”, The American Mathematical Monthly, 121;5 (2014), pp. 379-390.

  • Mario Ponce (Catholic University of Chile) and Patricio Santibanez (Instituto Alonso de Ercilla) - “On Equidistant Sets and Generalized Conics: The Old and the New”, The American Mathematical Monthly, 121;1 (2014), pp. 18-32.

Merten M. Hasse Prize

  • Charles Doran (University of Alberta) and Ursula Whitcher (University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire) - “From Polygons to String Theory”, Mathematics Magazine, 85; 5 (2012), pp. 343-360.

George Pólya Award

  • David Joyner (United States Naval Academy) - “The Man Who Found God’s Number”, The College Mathematics Journal, 45;4 (2014), pp. 258-266.

  • Michael Brilleslyper (Air Force Academy) and Lisbeth Schaubroeck (United States Air Force Academy) - “Locating Unimodular Roots”, The College Mathematics Journal, 45;3 (2014), pp. 162-168.

Henry L. Alder Awards

  • Allison Henrich (Seattle University)

  • Patrick Rault (State University of New York)

  • Talithia Williams (Harvey Mudd College)

Mary P. Dolciani Award

  • Sybilla Beckmann (University of Georgia)

Members are encouraged to log in and read the award-winning papers.


News Date: 
Monday, July 6, 2015