You are here

2013 MAA Awards Recipients Announced

The Mathematical Association of America has selected the 2013 recipients for the following awards:

Carl B. Allendoerfer Award

  • Khristo N. Boyadzhiev (Ohio Northern University) - "Close Encounters with the Stirling Numbers of the Second Kind" Mathematics Magazine, 85:4 (2012), pp. 252-266.
  • Adrian Rice (Randolph-Macon College) and Ezra Brown (Virginia Tech) - "Why Ellipses Are Not Elliptic Curves" Mathematics Magazine, 85:3 (2012), pp. 163-176.

Trevor Evans Award

  • Margaret Symington (Mercer University) - "Euclid Makes the Cut" Math Horizons, 19:3 (2012), pp. 6-9.

Halmos-Ford Award

  • Robert T. Jantzen and Klaus Volpert (Villanova University) - "On the Mathematics of Income Inequality: Splitting the Gini Index in Two" The American Mathematical Monthly, 119:10 (2012), pp. 824-837.
  • Dimitris Koukoulopoulos (University of Montreal) and Johann Thiel (United States Military Academy) - "Arrangements of Stars on the American Flag" The American Mathematical Monthly, 119:6 (2012), pp. 443-450.
  • Lionel Levine (Cornell University) and Katherine E. Stange (University of Colorado, Boulder) - "How to Make the Most of a Shared Meal: Plan the Last Bite First" The American Mathematical Monthly, 119:7 (2012), pp. 550-565.
  • Dan Kalman (American University) and Mark McKinzie (St. John Fisher College) - "Another Way to Sum a Series: Generating Functions, Euler, and the Dilog Function" The American Mathematical Monthly, 119:1 (2012), p. 42-51.

Merten M. Hasse Prize

  • Heiko von der Mosel (RWTH Aachen University) and Henryk Gerlach - "On Sphere-Filling Ropes" The American Mathematical Monthly, 118:10 (2011), p. 863-876.

George Pólya Award

  • Jacob Siehler (Washington and Lee University) - "The Finite Lamplighter Groups: A Guided Tour" The College Mathematics Journal, 43:3 (2012), pp. 203-211.
  • David Applegate (AT&T), Marc LeBrun (, and Neil J. A. Sloane (OEIS Foundation) - "Carryless Arithmetic Mod 10" The College Mathematics Journal, 43:1 (2012), pp. 43-50.

Henry L. Alder Awards

  • Kumer Das (Lamar University)
  • Christopher Storm (Adelphi University)
  • Rachel Levy (Harvey Mudd College)

William Lowell Putnam Competition and Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize

USA Mathematical Olympiad

Mary P. Dolciani Award

  • Hyman Bass (University of Michigan)

Awards will be presented during the MAA Prize Session on Friday, August 2, 2013, 11:30 - 11:50 a.m. at the 2013 MAA MathFest in Hartford, Connecticut. Winners of the Alder Award will present their work on Friday, August 2, 2013, 2:00 - 3:20 p.m.

News Date: 
Wednesday, June 26, 2013