Skip to content

In 1991 the Mathematical Association of America instituted Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics in order to honor college or university teachers who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions. In 1993 the MAA Board of Governors renamed the award to honor Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo.

Anyone may nominate an eligible college or university teacher for a Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics (see Eligibility and Guidelines for Nomination). The usual way to nominate a person for the Haimo Award is to first nominate them for an MAA Section Award for Distinguished Teaching. It is best to check with the secretary of the MAA Section of which the nominee is a member, and to also check that Section's website for details.

For all nominations, the directions on the Nomination form should be followed carefully. The full nomination packet is to be accompanied by a cover letter indicating whether this is a Section nominee or a different nomination. These must be received by the MAA Secretary by August 1 of each year. The Secretary verifies the completeness of each nomination packet and forwards all packets to the Committee on Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards.

Up to three Haimo Awards are given each year. At least one of the Award recipients must be a current Section nominee, and at most one of the Award recipients may be other than a current or past recipient of a Section Award for Distinguished Teaching. All recipients must be members of the Association (teaching in the U.S. or Canada).

An individual may win the Haimo award at most once. Recipients of the Haimo Award receive $1,000, partial support for travel to MAA MathFest, and a certificate of recognition.

Haimo Eligibility and Guidelines

Nominees must:

● Be college or university teachers who teach mathematical science courses at least half‐time during the academic year in either the United States or Canada. Those on approved leave (sabbatical or other) during the academic year in which they are nominated qualify if they fulfilled the requirements the previous year.

● Have more than seven years of experience in teaching mathematical sciences.

● Hold membership in the Mathematical Association of America.

The MAA’s core values are community, inclusivity, communication, and teaching and learning. Accordingly, inclusivity is a key consideration in the evaluation of nominations for this award. To reflect the diversity of our profession and the diversity to which it aspires, the MAA especially encourages nominees from communities marginalized by systemic discrimination.

The Haimo Award recognizes individuals who, through their extraordinary teaching, move our society towards valuing the power and beauty of mathematics and recognizing mathematics as a tool to promote human flourishing. Nominees should, in the context of their institution:

● Have extraordinary and widely recognized teaching success that can be documented.
● Through their teaching, have had an influence beyond their own institution.
● Have increased participation and advancement in mathematics and higher education especially by members of communities marginalized by systemic discrimination.

Past Recipients


Carol S. Schumacher, Kenyon College
Sarah C. Koch, University of Michigan
Adriana Salerno, Bates College


Robin Wilson, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Pamela Harris, Williams College
Darren A. Narayan, Rochester Institute of Technology


Dave Kung, St. Mary’s College in Maryland
David Austin, Grand Valley State University
Elaine Kasimatis, California State University, Sacramento


Federico Ardila, San Francisco State University and the Universidad de Los Andes
Mark Tomforde, University of Houston
Suzanne L. Weekes, Worcester Polytechnic Institute


Suzanne Dorée, Augsburg University
Carl Lee, Central Michigan University
Jennifer Switkes, California State Polytechnic University


Gary Gordon, Lafayette College
Hortensia Soto, University of Northern Colorado
Ronald Taylor, Jr., Berry College


Janet Heine Barnett, Colorado State University-Pueblo
Caren Diefenderfer, Hollins University
Tevian Dray, Oregon State University


Satyan Devadoss, Williams College
Tyler Jarvis, Brigham Young University
Glen Van Brummelen, Quest University


Judith Covington, LSU-Shreveport
Brian Hopkins, St. Peter’s University
Shahriar Shahriari, Pomona College


Carl Lee, University of Kentucky
Gavin LaRose, University of Michigan
Andrew Bennett, Kansas State University


Matthias Beck, San Francisco State University
Margaret Robinson, Mount Holyoke College
Francis Su, Harvey Mudd College


Matthew DeLong, Taylor University
Susan Loepp, Williams College
Cynthia Wyels, California State University Channel Islands


Erica Flapan, Pomona College
Karen Rhea, University of Michigan
Zvezdelina Stankova, Mills College


Curtis Bennett, Loyola Marymount University
Michael Dorff, Brigham Young University
Allan J. Rossman, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo


Michael Bardzell, Salisbury University
David Pengelley, New Mexico State University
Vali Siadat, City Colleges of Chicago


Annalisa Crannell, Franklin and Marshall
Kenneth I. Gross, University of Vermont
James Morrow, University of Washington


Jennifer Quinn, Occidental College
Michael Starbird, University of Texas
Gilbert Strang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)


Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University
Keith Stroyan, University of Iowa
Judy Leavitt Walker, University of Nebraska


Gerald L. Alexanderson, Santa Clara University
Aparna Higgins, University of Dayton
Deborah Hughes-Hallett, University of Arizona


Thomas Garrity, Williams College
Andrew Chiang-Fung Liu, University of Alberta
Olympia Nicodemi, SUNY at Geneseo


Judith V. Grabiner, Pitzer College
Ranjan Roy, Beloit College
Paul Andrew Zeitz, University of San Francisco


Dennis DeTurck, University of Pennsylvania
Paul J. Sally, Jr., University of Chicago
Edward Spitznagel, Jr., Washington University


Edward B. Burger, Williams College
Evelyn Silvia, University of California at Davis
Leonard F. Klosinki, Santa Clara University


Arthur T. Benjamin, Harvey Mudd College
Donald S. Passman, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Gary W. Towsley, State University of New York at Geneseo


Joel V. Brawley, Clemson University
Robert W. Case, Northeastern University
Joan P. Hutchinson, Macalester College


Colin Adams, Williams College
Rhonda Hatcher, Texas Christian University
Rhonda Hughes, Bryn Mawr College


Carl C. Cowen, Purdue University
Carl Pomerance, University of Georgia
T. Christine Stevens, Saint Louis University


Thomas F. Banchoff, Brown University
Edward M. Landesman, Univ. of California-Santa Cruz
Herbert S. Wilf, Univ. of Pennsylvania


Robert L. Devaney, Boston University
Lisa Mantini, Oklahoma State University
David S. Moore, Purdue University


Paul R. Halmos, Santa Clara University
Justin J. Price, Purdue University
Alan C. Tucker, State University of New York at Stony Brook


Joseph A. Gallian, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Robert V. Hogg, University of Iowa
Anne Hudson, Armstrong State College
Frank Morgan, Williams College
V. Frederick Rickey, Bowling Green State University
Doris W. Schattschneider, Moravian College
Philip D. Straffin, Jr., Beloit College