Skip to content

Top High School Math Olympians Announced by MAA American Mathematics Competitions

WASHINGTON, DC - Sixteen top high school math students were honored for their excellence in mathematical olympiads on June 3, 2019 during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. at the U.S. Department of State. 300,000 students participated in the MAA American Mathematics Competitions (AMC), organized by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) which culminates in the USA Mathematical Olympiad, the final invitational exam in a challenging series of MAA AMC competitions. The winners of the 48th Annual United States of America Mathematical Olympiad (USAMO), twelve high school students with the top scores in the competition, were announced at the event.

European Girls' Mathematical Olympiad

The ceremony also honors the members of the U.S. team who took first place in the 8th Annual European Girls’ Mathematical Olympiad in the Ukraine this April. The team which is organized and trained by the MAA American Mathematics Competitions won the international competition against teams from 50 countries. Team members include Yuting Qin (EGMO individual gold medal), Ishika Shah (EGMO individual gold medal), Janabel Xia (EGMO individual silver medal), and Catherine Wu (EGMO individual gold medal).

International Mathematical Olympiad

The MAA also announced which students will compete on the U.S. team that it organizes and trains for the International Mathematical Olympiad in Bath, United Kingdom from July 11-22, 2019. The U.S. team won first place in 2015, 2016, and 2018 with a fourth-place finish in 2017 at the International Mathematical Olympiad in which top high school math students compete with their international peers from more than 100 countries.

The 2019 U.S. International Mathematical Olympiad team is: Vincent Huang, Luke Robitaille, Colin Tang, Edward Wan, Brandon Wang, Daniel Zhu. Huang is a returning team member from 2017 and 2018.

Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, Director, The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and Congressman Jerry McNerney (CA-09), who is the only PhD mathematician in Congress, honored the students during the award ceremony for their achievement in mathematics.

The Mathematical Association of America is proud to present the MAA American Mathematics Competitions to identify the math students who excel at problem solving through the USA Mathematical Olympiad and USA Junior Mathematical Olympiad. We congratulate these high school students on their achievement on the national stage and also salute the EGMO and IMO team members for representing the United States of America so admirably on the international stage,” said Michael Pearson, the executive director of the Mathematical Association of America.

USA Mathematical Olympiad

The 2019 USA Mathematical Olympiad winners are (in alphabetical order): Vincent Bian, Milan Haiman, Vincent Huang, Kevin Liu, Luke Robitaille, Victor Rong, Carl Schildkraut, Colin Tang, Edward Wan, Brandon Wang, Guanpeng Xu, and Daniel Zhu. Rong returns for his third USAMO win and Huang, Schildkraut, Wan, Wang, and Xu were among the top twelve scorers in 2018. The honorable mentions for this competition are available here.

The first and second ranked USA Mathematical Olympiad winners received scholarships worth a total of $45,000 from the Akamai Foundation, the private corporate foundation of Akamai Technologies, and each of the twelve USA Mathematical Olympiad winners and members of the European Girls’ Mathematical Olympiad team received $500 each for the Robert P. Balles Mathematical Olympiad Prize. The Balles Prize awarded $1,000 each to members of the International Mathematical Olympiad team.

USA Junior Mathematical Olympiad

The winners of the United States of America Junior Mathematical Olympiad (USAJMO), who are the top MAA American Mathematics Competitions students in 10th grade and below were also announced June 3, 2019. They are Adithya Balachandran, Kevin Cong, Rishabh Das, Benjamin Epstein, Justin Lee, Huaye Jeffrey Lin, Daniel Park, Eric Shen, Noah Walsh, Jaedon Whyte, Eric Yang, and George Zhang. The honorable mentions for this competition are available here.