Skip to content

Three Exceptional Professors Honored with MAA’s 2023 Teaching Awards

The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) annually honors teachers who are making an impact on mathematics education with the Henry L. Alder Award. We’re elated to announce the 2023 Alder Award winners: Dr. Abraham Edwards, Dr. Alison Lynch, and Dr. Andrea Arauza Rivera.

Henry L. Alder Award

Our Henry L. Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching honors beginning college or university faculty whose teaching has been extraordinarily successful and whose effectiveness in teaching undergraduate mathematics is shown to have influence beyond their classrooms.

Alder Awards

Dr. Abraham Edwards

Dr. Abraham Edwards is a professor at Michigan State's Lyman Briggs College. He received his PhD in Mathematics Education from Michigan State University in 2016 before joining the faculty. A mark of his success is the number of his College Algebra students that continue to thrive in higher-level courses, some even pursuing PhDs in mathematics. Dr. Edwards utilizes his training and research in mathematics education and his passion for mathematics and its history to be a highly effective and impactful instructor. From a study abroad course to a senior seminar to a popular MAA MathFest workshop, Dr. Edwards uses math history to make his courses come alive. Beyond the classroom, Dr. Edwards demonstrates his commitment to mathematics education by leading a popular 2022 MAA MathFest workshop, Learning from History: Teaching with Primary Source Projects in Your Mathematics Classroom. Dr. Edwards received the MAA Michigan Section’s 2022 Distinguished Teaching Award and was a finalist for the Michigan State University-wide 2022 President’s Teaching Award.

Dr. Alison Lynch

Dr. Alison Lynch is an associate professor of mathematics at California State University (CSU), Monterey Bay. She earned a BS in Mathematics from the University of Delaware and a PhD in Mathematics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She was a Project NExT fellow and was awarded the Distinguished College or University New Teacher of Mathematics Award by the Golden Section of the MAA in 2021. Dr. Lynch uses a variety of student-centered pedagogies to enhance learning, including inquiry-based activities to get students to read before class and a proof portfolio project. Her greatest strength is her exceptional ability to share her expertise in teaching and learning practices and to mentor others on how to implement them. She recently received a grant to implement Standards Based Grading (SBG) into numerous sections of Calculus I and Differential Equations and Linear Algebra at two different institutions.

Dr. Andrea Arauza Rivera

Dr. Andrea Arauza Rivera is an extraordinary teacher, collaborator, mentor, and leader at California State University (CSU), East Bay. She was born in Guadalajara, Mexico and her family moved between Texas, Mexico, and Nevada before settling in the California Central Valley. Dr. Arauza Rivera earned her B.S. in Mathematics from CSU Stanislaus. In 2018, she completed a PhD in Mathematics at UC Riverside and joined California State University, East Bay, as an Assistant Professor in the Fall of 2018. Dr. Arauza Rivera combats systemic and structural inequities through active, inclusive, and engaging instruction. Her values of joy, community, justice, and love can be seen elegantly woven throughout her contributions in three key areas: curriculum and instruction, equity through innovative assessment, and student research and projects. She has led numerous undergraduate research projects, including engaging freshmen and sophomore STEM majors to work on projects relating to mathematics and the social/cultural/political systems in the Bay Area. Dr. Arauza Rivera’s commitment to infusing her values of joy, community, justice, and love in all she does has changed student lives and opened doors. Her generosity in creating and sharing her materials has impacted other instructors at CSUEB and beyond.

Learn more information and how to submit a nomination.