Skip to content

Mathematicians Honored by MAA for Service and Teaching

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The top mathematics educators were honored by the Mathematical Association of America for their dedication to teaching and engaging students during MAA MathFest in Cincinnati on Aug. 2, 2019. The awards recognize excellence in mathematics teaching and the authors of education materials used in the classroom. The awards also honor MAA members for their service to the field of mathematics and to the Association.

"The contributions to the mathematics community we recognize today are crucial to the core values of the MAA. We are proud to honor our colleagues for their dedication to their commitment to MAA's mission."

Michael Pearson, executive director of the MAA

Inaugural MAA Award for Inclusivity

Beginning in 2019, the MAA Award for Inclusivity will recognize a person who has performed significant, sustained work to broaden access to mathematics. Sylvia Trimble Bozeman, Spelman College is honored for her four decades of teaching, supervising, and mentoring countless students. She has shown an unwavering commitment to bringing more African-Americans—as well as women and individuals from other under-represented groups—into the field of mathematics.

Henry L. Alder Awards

Each year the MAA honors beginning college or university faculty whose teaching has been highly effective and successful in undergraduate mathematics. This year the Henry L. Alder Award winners are:

  • P.J. Couch, Lamar University
  • Pamela Harris, Williams College
  • Alicia Prieto Langarica, Youngstown State University

Mary P. Dolciani Award

The Mary P. Dolciani Award winner Joseph Gallian, University of Minnesota Duluth, who exemplifies the combination of excellence in both mathematical research and mathematics education that the Mary P. Dolciani Award honors.

Daniel Solow Author's Award

The Daniel Solow Author’s Award recognizes authors of undergraduate mathematics teaching materials. This year, Tim Chartier, Davidson College is honored for his ability to engage readers through his enthusiasm for mathematics, and his writings that demonstrate his extraordinary ability to reach a wide range of audiences.

Meritorious Service Awards

Since 1984, the Certificate of Meritorious Service has been presented for service at the national level or for service to a Section of the Association. This year’s honorees are:

  • John Thoo, Yuba College, of the MAA Golden Section
  • Richard Alan (Rick) Gillman, Valparaiso University, of the MAA Indiana Section
  • John Travis, Mississippi College, of the MAA Louisiana-Mississippi Section
  • Martha Abell, Georgia Southern University, of the MAA Southeastern Section
  • Dave Skoug, University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Muriel Skoug, Nebraska Wesleyan University, of the MAA Nebraska Southeast South Dakota Section
  • Christopher Swanson, Ashland University, of the MAA Ohio Section