Skip to content

MAA Recognizes Excellence in Mathematical Education with the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards

Washington, DC (July 28, 2022) - The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards: Robin Wilson, Pamela E. Harris, and Darren A. Narayan.

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards

The Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards honor college or university professors who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions.

Robin Wilson, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Robin Wilson is recognized for being an exemplary classroom instructor and selfless mentor; he is a builder and facilitator of programs that address the mathematical pipeline from K-12 through post graduate education; and he is a tireless worker who transforms the culture of mathematics to one that values diversity and that acts inclusively and equitably to allow all to flourish.

“It’s an honor to be recognized by my peers in the mathematical community with a Haimo award and I am humbled to join the group of award recipients,” he shared. “This recognition for me is the recognition of the community that I am a part of and the many students, teachers, mentors, and colleagues that I have had the privilege to work with and learn from. I want to thank many folks who have taken the time to go out of their way to welcome me to the mathematics community, support me on my journey, and have helped me feel that I have a place here.

Pamela E. Harris, Williams College

Pamela E. Harris is the definition of a well-rounded and astonishingly successful mathematics educator. Her teaching has been recognized as extraordinarily successful by various organizations. 

She describes her professional goals as “[seeking] to teach and mentor in a way that instills mathematical confidence in all students and creates learning communities that develop a culture of continuous improvement and collective responsibility.” To achieve this in her classroom, Pamela uses small group discussions, peer presentations of problems, collaborative problem solving, research projects, metacognitive reflections, and other evidence-based practices shown to develop confident and lifelong learners of mathematics. Pamela constantly involves students in her own research, co-authoring the majority of her over 100  publications with undergraduates. While doing research with students, Pamela always takes the time and makes the effort to get to know students as whole human beings. 

In response to achievement, she stated, “I am filled with a deep sense of humility in receiving this MAA honor. My life as an educator is rooted in the love I have for people, especially those who, like me, have been marginalized and historically excluded from higher education. Luckily, I found my people: a community of individuals who care first and foremost about people; who are committed to making the math community more inclusive and equitable; and who are courageous in the fight against systemic oppression and white supremacy. Their work inspires me and keeps me going even when things may feel hopeless—this award is a tribute to them. I would like to thank all of the young people who I have worked with because they have been my greatest teachers. Often, unbeknownst to them, they have been the glue holding my professional career together.”

Darren A. Narayan, Rochester Institute of Technology

Darren A. Narayan is recognized as a dynamic teacher. He engages students with challenging problems, applications to industry, and research opportunities. His influence goes beyond his institution through publications, talks, and acting as director of the MAA Preparation for Industrial Careers in Mathematics Program, MAA PIC Math. Darren is recognized as a bridge between the mathematics community and industry, as well as between students from underrepresented groups and research opportunities. 

“I am truly honored to receive this prestigious award from the MAA. Having been raised by two outstanding teachers, Jack and Marion Narayan, I learned early at an early age the importance and responsibility that comes with being an educator. I do my best to include an “Aha!” moment in each lecture—where  students form a connection that they remember well after they leave the classroom.” he stated.

“MAA values education to its core,” said Michael Pearson, executive director of MAA. “It is extremely important to us that these individuals are celebrated for their incredible work and contribution to the Mathematical Community.”