Skip to content

MAA Honors the Three Recipients of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards

The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) is elated to announce the 2023 recipients of the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards: Carol S. Schumacher, Sarah C. Koch, and Adriana Salerno.

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards

The Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards honor college or university professors who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions.

Carol S. Schumacher, Kenyon College

Dr. Carol Schumacher is recognized for her excellent teaching for more than 30 years at Kenyon College, where getting to know her students has been a hallmark of her teaching and mentorship. By building these connections, she establishes a community with the students that helps launch them on their future mathematical paths. Her mathematical impact spans beyond the classroom, as she’s been involved with MAA Project NExT (New Experiences in Teaching) since its inception, and shortly after earned tenure. Dr. Schumacher also served more than a decade as a member of the MAA’s Committee on the Undergraduate Program in Mathematics, chairing the committee from 2008 to 2011. During her tenure as chair, she initiated the process that led to the 2015 CUPM Curriculum Guide to Majors in the Mathematical Sciences.

“I am deeply moved to be one of this year’s recipients of the Haimo Award,” Schumacher states. “Previous awardees include many of the best mathematics teachers I know, many of them mentors to me. I am profoundly humbled to have my name listed along with theirs.”

Sarah C. Koch, University of Michigan 

Dr. Sarah Koch is an inspirational teacher whose influence extends from elementary to graduate school. She is a tireless and relentless advocate for mathematics who leverages the power of communities to support, encourage, and inspire all students; especially those who are typically underrepresented in the STEM disciplines.” Since 2018, Dr. Koch has been working with the Ypsilanti Community Middle School (YCMS), a predominantly African American middle school, to provide instruction and support of their mathematics curriculum. On a bi-weekly basis, Dr. Koch and groups of about 20 University of Michigan students traveled to YCMS to provide tutoring and additional instruction. To support this work and the students, she founded the Ypsilanti Math Corps to provide a supportive community that uses engagement in mathematics to inspire students to envision themselves as active participants in the STEM disciplines beyond high school and college.

“This is a tremendous honor,” Koch says. “I would like to thank all of my wonderful teachers over the years, my friends and colleagues at Michigan, my amazing students, and my Math Corps family.”

Adriana Salerno, PhD, Bates College 

Dr. Adriana Salerno is an exemplary mathematician and educator, who cares deeply about her students and who invests a lot of time and energy creating a welcoming atmosphere in her classes so her students can thrive. She has shown her ability to lead inside her institution and at the national and international level. Dr. Salerno has worked to create a more inclusive environment for the mathematics community. Dr. Salerno connects with her students, they trust her and are not afraid to speak up. Outside of the classroom, Dr. Salerno started and led a math circle for sixth grade students in her city. At her institution she is the chair of her department, and the chair of the Diversity Action Team, Bates College’s faculty committee for inclusion, diversity, and equity.

“I am honored to receive this award,” Salerno says. “I have many people to thank, but I especially want to recognize Bates College colleagues and students for being my co-creators and collaborators in all my teaching.”