Skip to content

MAA Announces Winners of National Education Award

WASHINGTON, DC - The Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School are given annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers who have done outstanding work to motivate students in mathematics by participating in one of the MAA American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) competitions. This national education award recognizes outstanding work to spark students' interest in mathematics through participation in the MAA AMC.

Annually, approximately 300,000 middle school and high school students in approximately 6,000 schools participate in the MAA American Mathematics Competitions. The mission of the AMC is to increase interest in mathematics and to develop problem-solving skills through participation in a fun event.

2019 Edyth May Sliffe Award Winners:

  • Sarah Arends, Maple School, Northbrook, IL
  • Storie Atkins, Columbus High School, Columbus, GA
  • William Bagnal, Arcata High School, Arcata, CA
  • Matt Buchta, Darien High School, Darien, CT
  • Sema Duzyol, Fulton Science Academy, Alpharetta, GA
  • Colin D. Hinde, Cranbrook Schools, Bloomfield Hills, MI
  • Susie Min, Oxford Academy, Cypress, CA
  • Steven J. Shaff, Sauk Valley Community College, Dixon, IL
  • Denise Shea, West Windsor Plainsboro High School, North Plainsboro, NJ
  • Daheng Shen, New Utrecht High School, Brooklyn, NY

“It is my honor to recognize the 2019 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe award for the dedication that these individuals bring to teaching mathematics,” said MAA executive director Michael Pearson. “The hours spent preparing students for and organizing MAA American Mathematics Competitions demonstrates a passion for helping the next generation understand the importance of mathematics in shaping our world.”

The Edyth May Sliffe Award was established in 1989 with a bequest from Sliffe’s estate. A high school mathematics teacher in Emeryville, California for 36 years, Sliffe wanted to recognize the nation’s top math teachers for their contributions. Sliffe winners are each awarded $500. Award recipients will also receive free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in Philadelphia, PA, July 29-Aug. 1, 2020. This is an annual conference for mathematics education and research that draws mathematicians from across the country.