Skip to content

MAA American Mathematics Competitions Recognizes Top High School Math Teachers

WASHINGTON, DC - The MAA American Mathematics Competitions (MAA AMC) is pleased to announce the 2021 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School. This national education prize is awarded annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers for their outstanding work to motivate students through participation in the MAA AMC.

Every year, approximately 300,000 middle and high school students in over 5,000 schools participate in the MAA AMC. The mission of the AMC is to increase interest in mathematics and to develop analytical problem-solving skills through participation in a challenging, dynamic competition. This year, twenty-two teachers received the Sliffe award.

2021 Edyth May Sliffe Award Winners:

· Abby Brown, Torrey Pines High School, San Diego, CA

· Adam Gregson, University of Toronto Schools, Toronto, ON

· Andrew Fischer, Saint Francis High School, Mountain View, CA

· Anthony Newberry, Hirschi Math Science IB Magnet High School, Wichita Falls, TX

· Brian Shay, Canyon Crest Academy, San Diego, CA

· Brian Sterr, Stuyvesant High School, New York, NY

· Byoung Kang, Goose Creek Memorial High School, Baytown, TX

· Cheryl Coursen, Livingston High School, Livingston, NJ

· Christopher Grattoni, William Fremd High School, Palatine, IL

· Dane Isenberg, Trinity School, New York, NY

· David Ebert, Oregon High School, Oregon, WI

· Mary Ann Gavioli, Clarkstown High School South, West Nyack, NY

· Rebekah Sjoberg, Mount Nittany Middle School, State College, PA

· Sarah Manchester, Takoma Park Middle School, Silver Spring, MD

· Sheila Krilov, Hunter College High School, New York, NY

· Stephanie Finander, Woodside High School, Woodside, CA

· Tyler Erb, Community House Middle School, Charlotte, NC

· Vandana Kadam, The Harker School, San Jose, CA

· Vasanthara Sundarapather, Junius H. Rose High School, Greenville, NC

· Vidya Mannem, Basis San Antonio Shavano, San Antonio, TX

· Wendy Cordero, Lexington High School, Lexington, MA

· Will Frazer, Buchholz High School, Gainesville, FL

“It is my honor to recognize the 2020-2021 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe award for the dedication that these individuals bring to teaching mathematics. The hours spent preparing students for and organizing MAA American Mathematics Competitions demonstrates a passion for helping the next generation understand the importance of mathematics in shaping our world.” - MAA executive director Michael Pearson.

The Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School are given annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers who have done outstanding work to motivate students in mathematics by participating in one of the MAA American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) competitions. More than 20 competition managers received recognition from the MAA AMC program and a $500 stipend along with recognition on the MAA website and social media. Award recipients will also receive free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in Philadelphia, PA, Aug 3-6, 2022.