Skip to content

MAA American Mathematics Competitions Recognizes Top High School Math Teachers

WASHINGTON, DC - The MAA American Mathematics Competitions (MAA AMC) is pleased to announce the 2020 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle School and High School. This national education prize is awarded annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers for their outstanding work to motivate students through participation in the MAA AMC.Every year, approximately 300,000 middle school and high school students in over 5,000 schools participate in the MAA AMC. The mission of the AMC is to increase interest in mathematics and to develop analytical problem-solving skills through participation in a challenging and dynamic competition. This year, twenty teachers received the Sliffe award.2020 Edyth May Sliffe Award Winners:

  • Bettina Berton, Evergreen Middle School, Redmond, WA 
  • Brian Jackson, Morgantown High, Morgantown, WV 
  • Christopher Tillman, Sierra Canyon School, Chatsworth, CA 
  • Daniel Lowe, Lebanon Trail High School, Frisco, TX 
  • Ingrid Lu, Joaquin Miller Middle School, San Jose, CA 
  • Joshua Rosenthal, Science Academy STEM Magnet, Los Angeles, CA 
  • Luis Valdes, Dulles High School, Sugar Land, TX 
  • Marisa Reinsch, Skyline High School, Sammamish, WA 
  • Matthew Caputo, John Stark Regional High School, Weare, NH 
  • Matthew Donnelly, Saint Bernard School, Uncasville, CT 
  • Patrick Keegan, West Woods Upper Elementary School, Farmington, CT 
  • Paul Poiesz, Conestoga High School, Berwyn, PA 
  • Richard Agin, Evanston Township High School, Evanston, IL 
  • Steve Gadbois, Memphis University School, Memphis, TN 
  • Steve Maxey, Great Oak High School, Temecula, CA 
  • Susan Gifford, Vestavia Hills High School, Vestavia Hills, AL 
  • Terry King, Deerlake Middle School, Tallahassee, FL 
  • William Hawkins, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, PA 
  • William Skerbitz, Wayzata High School, Plymouth, MN 
  • William Speer, Cranbrook, Bloomfield Hills, MI 

“MAA AMC is delighted to recognize and support dedicated teachers like these who host our competitions, and most importantly, who encourage their students to develop their mathematical thinking in new ways beyond the classroom,” said MAA executive director Michael Pearson. “It is my pleasure to recognize the work and accomplishments of the 2020 Edyth May Sliffe Award winners.”

“It is my pleasure to recognize the work and accomplishments of the 2020 Edyth May Sliffe Award winners.”

MAA executive director Michael Pearson.

The Edyth May Sliffe Award was established in 1989 with a bequest from the Sliffe estate. Sliffe, a high school mathematics teacher in Emeryville, California for 36 years, wanted to recognize the nation’s top math teachers for their contributions. Sliffe winners each receive $500 and free registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in Sacramento, CA, Aug. 4-7, 2021. This is an annual conference that features the latest in mathematics education and research and draws mathematicians from across the country. Watch this video featuring this year's winners.