Skip to content

MAA American Mathematics Competitions Recognizes Exceptional High School Math Teachers

WASHINGTON, DC - The MAA American Mathematics Competitions (MAA AMC) is pleased to announce the 2022 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe Awards for Distinguished Mathematics Teaching in Middle and High School. This national education prize is awarded annually to middle and high school mathematics teachers for their outstanding work to motivate students through participation in the MAA AMC.

Every year, approximately 300,000 middle and high school students in over 5,000 schools participate in the MAA AMC. The AMC’s mission is to increase interest in mathematics and to develop analytical problem-solving skills through participation in a challenging, dynamic competition. This year, several teachers received the Sliffe award.

2022 Edyth May Sliffe Award Winners:

  • Amy Hazelton, Beachwood Middle School, Beachwood, OH
  • Anne Crumm, Ralph Cadwallader Middle School, Las Vegas, NV
  • Bee Lim, Ingraham High School, Seattle, WA
  • Cameo Lutz, Riverton High School, Riverton, Utah
  • Davut Yildiz, Pioneer Academy, Wayne, NJ
  • Dr. Chuck Garner, Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, Conyers, GA
  • Dr. Joanna Papakonstantinou, Episcopal High School, Houston, TX
  • Edrick Lin, Saint Clare School, San Jose, CA
  • Emily Larsen, East Ridge High School, Woodbury, MN
  • Jennifer Smith, Boulan Park Middle School, Troy, MI
  • Ismail Marul, Coral Academy of Science Las Vegas-Sandy Ridge Campus, Henderson, NV
  • John Daniel, Good Shepherd Lutheran School, Novato, CA
  • John Walter, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School, Richmond, VA
  • Marilupe Hren, Dulles High School, Sugar Land, TX
  • Mark Norton, Northwest Junior High School, Coralville, IA
  • Michelle Binder, Pizitz Middle School, Vestavia Hills, AL
  • Movina Seepersaud, East-West School of International Studies, Flushing, NY
  • Renee Zacks, Detroit Country Day School, Beverly Hills, MI
  • Sema Duzyol, Fulton Science Academy, Alpharetta, GA
  • Shelby Aaberg, Scottsbluff High School and Bluffs Middle School, Scottsbluff, NE
  • Tatiana Ter-Saakov, Main Line Classical Academy, Bryn Mawr, PA
  • Tim Chavel, Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy, Charlotte, NC
  • Warren Tucker, Hanover High School, Hanover, NH
  • William Lin, Yorba Linda Middle School, Yorba Linda, CA


“It is my honor to recognize the 2021-2022 winners of the Edyth May Sliffe award. The MAA celebrates the dedication that these individuals bring to teaching mathematics. The hours spent preparing students for and organizing MAA American Mathematics Competitions demonstrates a passion for helping the next generation understand mathematics and its impact on our world.” - MAA Executive Director, Michael Pearson.

These MAA AMC competition managers will receive a $500 stipend and recognition on the MAA website and social media and from the MAA AMC program. Award recipients will also receive complimentary registration, housing, and travel expenses to MAA MathFest in Tampa, FL, Aug 2-5, 2023.