Skip to content

2024 MAA Inclusivity Award Winner Announced

The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) is proud to announce José María Menéndez as the recipient of the 2024 MAA Award for Inclusivity. This prestigious award honors his exceptional efforts in enhancing equity in the mathematical community and classrooms.

Inclusivity Award 

In 2019, MAA launched the Inclusivity Award in recognition of the importance of its core value of Inclusivity in building a healthy, vibrant mathematical community where all are welcome and encouraged to flourish. 

About This Year’s Recipient

Menéndez has dedicated his career to promoting inclusive practices in mathematics education by focusing on the interplay of language and culture in teaching. His work encompasses engaging with secondary students and their families, pre-service and in-service teachers, and college students, particularly those from traditionally underrepresented populations such as the Latinx community.

A passionate advocate for culturally relevant learning spaces, Menéndez strives to challenge sociomathematical norms that may create barriers to learning. His commitment to fostering equitable educational environments extends to his ongoing work with teacher educators, where he emphasizes the importance of building inclusive pedagogical strategies.

"Extremely honored to receive the 2023 MAA Award for Inclusivity," said Menéndez. "I'm learning as I walk this path. Still much work to do: Together we can!"

Menéndez's award-winning efforts inspire educators and researchers worldwide. The MAA applauds his dedication to creating a more inclusive and equitable future for mathematics education.

More information on the award and how to submit a nomination

About MAA The Mathematical Association of America is the world’s largest community of mathematicians, students, and enthusiasts. We accelerate our understanding of our world through mathematics because mathematics drives society and shapes our lives. Learn more at