You are here

CUPM Curriculum Guide

Updates Since 2015

The original 2015 published version with course reports and program reports can be found below. The top of this page is used to share ongoing updates of these reports that have been completed since 2015.

The 2015 CUPM Guide

MAA's Committee on the Undergraduate Program in Mathematics (CUPM) is charged with making recommendations to guide mathematics departments in designing curricula for their undergraduate students.

View the 2015 CUPM Curriculum Guide to Majors in the Mathematical Sciences here or download the printed version. To best navigate this Guide, please review the Introduction and Overview of Majors in the Mathematical Sciences first.

Support for this MAA program is provided by the National Science Foundation (grant DUE-1228636).


Overview of Majors in the Mathematical Sciences

Course Reports

Program Reports

 Beyond the Curriculum

Departmental Responsibilities

Math as a Liberal Art

Recruitment and Retention

Articulation and Placement

Preparation for Graduate Study



Undergraduate Research

Open Questions

For any questions concerning this Guide please contact Martha Siegel at or MAA Programs at

2015 Curriculum Guide Steering Committee
  • Martha Siegel, Chair, Towson University
  • Carol Schumacher, Chair, Kenyon College
  • Paul Zorn, Editor, St. Olaf College
  • Linda Braddy, Tarrant County College
  • David Bressoud, Macalester College
  • Jenna Carpenter, Campbell University
  • Harriet Pollatsek, Mount Holyoke College
  • Michael Starbird, University of Texas at Austin
  • Alan Tucker, SUNY Stony Brook
  • Betsy Yanik, Emporia State University
2009-2015 CUPM Membership
  • Kathy Andrist
  • Patrick Bahls
  • Michael Beals
  • Michael Boardman
  • Raymond Cannon
  • Alfonso Castro
  • Dennis DeTurck
  • Susanna Epp
  • Jennifer Galovich
  • Jean Johnson
  • Dan King
  • Patti Frazer Lock
  • Dawn Lott
  • David Manderscheid
  • Robert McCarthy
  • Glenn Miller
  • Mike O'Neill
  • Mary Pilgrim
  • Robert Rogers
  • Mark Sand
  • Carol Schumacher
  • James Sellars
  • Michael Starbird
  • Irena Swanson
  • Gary Towsley
  • Alan Tucker
  • Elizabeth Yanik
  • Katherine Yoshiwara