You are here

USA Mathematical Olympiad: 2008 USAMO Winners

This year, 505 outstanding high school students qualified for the 2008 USA Mathematical Olympiad (USAMO). On April 29-30, these students tackled a challenging, six-question exam, distributed via the Internet to their schools. The 12 winners are (in alphabetical order):

David Benjamin, Harrison High School, West Lafayette, Indiana.

Taoran Chen, Bayside High School, Flushing, New York.

Paul Christiano, The Harker School, San Jose, California.

Samuel Elder, Poudre High School, Fort Collins, Colorado.

Shaunak Kishore, Unionville High School, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.

Delong Meng, Baton Rouge Magnet High School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Evan O’Dorney, Berkeley Math Circle, Berkeley, California.

Qinxuan Pan, Thomas Sprigg Wootton High School, Rockville, Maryland.

David Rolnick, Home School, Rupert, Vermont.

Krishanu Sankar, Horace Mann School, Riverdale, New York.

Colin Sandon, Essex High School, Essex Junction, Vermont.

Alex Zhai, University Laboratory High School, Urbana, Illinois.

An awards ceremony for the 12 USAMO winners will be held in Washington, D.C., at the MAA Headquarters on June 8 and at both the National Academy of Sciences and U.S. Department of State buildings on June 9.

On June 7-8, the winners will take the team selection test (TST) to try to qualify for the U.S. team, which will compete in the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO), to be held in Madrid, Spain, July 10-22. That team will consist of the six students with the highest combined scores from the TST and USAMO. These students will then spend three weeks this summer at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln training for the IMO.

The USAMO is the pinnacle event in the sequence of increasingly challenging mathematical contests administered by the MAA's American Mathematics Competitions program. More than 225,000 worldwide took the first contest (AMC 10 and/or AMC 12). About 8,600 were invited to compete in the second contest (AIME), and just 505 of these participants made it to the highly selective and prestigious USAMO.

News Date: 
Monday, May 12, 2008