You are here

USA Junior Mathematical Olympiad: 2010 USAJMO Winners

The Committee on the American Mathematics Competitions announces a new contest, the USA Junior Mathematical Olympiad, for students in 10th grade and below. This year, 237 students qualified for the USAJMO. On April 27-28, these students tackled a challenging, six-question exam, distributed via the Internet to their schools. The top thirteen scores, including ties, are listed below in alphabetical order.

Yury Aglyamov, Liberal Arts & Science Academy High School, Austin, Texas.

Ravi Bajaj Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire

Evan Chen, Horner Junior High School, Fremont, California.

Zijing Gao, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina.

Gil Goldshlager, Walton High School, Marietta, Georgia.

Youkow Homma, Carmel High School, Carmel, Indiana.

Jesse Kim, Henry M. Gunn High School, Palo Alto, California.

Sadik Shahidain, Princeton High School, Princeton, New Jersey.

Alexander Smith, La Plata High School, La Plata, Maryland.

Susan Di Yun Sun, West Vancouver SS, West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Jiaqi Xie, Cypress Bay High School, Weston, Florida.

Jeffrey Yan, Palo Alton High School, Palo Alto, California.

Kevin Zhou, Woburn Cl., North York, Ontario, Canada.

The Junior Mathematical Olympiad contest better meets the level of young students. This new contest bridges the computational solution process of the AIME and the proof orientation of the USAMO.

News Date: 
Monday, May 10, 2010