Skip to content

83rd Putnam Competition Announces Top Students in Undergraduate Mathematics

WASHINGTON, DC - Announcing the results of the 2022 William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, the most prestigious mathematics competition for undergraduates.

The 83rd annual Putnam Competition, administered by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA), recognized Massachusetts Institute of Technology as the top team, and named five undergraduate students Putnam Fellows for their high scores in the demanding six-hour mathematics competition.

The Mathematical Association of America is proud to recognize all students and institutions participating in this year’s Putnam Competition. We extend a special congratulations to the Putnam Fellows, the winner of the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize, and the top-scoring teams for their dedication and outstanding performances. The future of mathematics is bright because of these students, and we look forward to their continued success.

Michael Pearson, MAA Executive Director

3,415 students from 456 institutions participated in this highly competitive competition on December 3, 2022. The MAA has compiled a list of the top college and university teams, as well as the top student participants. The highest score on the six-hour exam was 101 out of a possible 120 points.

I would like to congratulate each and every student participant in this year's Putnam Competition. No matter how well a student performs in the competition, the experience of engaging intensely with challenging problems develops the student's mathematical power and creativity. Kudos to every participant.

Daniel Ullman, Putnam Competition Director

Cash prizes are awarded to the highest-ranked team’s math department and their student members, Putnam Fellows, and the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam winner.

Top 5 Putnam Competition Teams: 2022

  1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  2. Harvard University
  3. Stanford University
  4. University of Maryland, College Park
  5. Yale University

2022 Individual Putnam Fellows, listed in alphabetical order:
Mingyang Deng, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Papon Lapate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Brian Liu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Luke Robitaille, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Zhu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize Winner

Binwei Yan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The Mathematical Association of America organizes the William Lowell Putnam
Mathematical Competition from the generous support of the William Lowell
Putnam Prize Fund. For more information about participating in the Putnam
Competition, visit here.


The Mathematical Association of America is the world’s largest community of
mathematicians, students, and enthusiasts. We accelerate the understanding of
our world through mathematics because mathematics drives society and
shapes our lives.