You are here

MAA National Elections Coming Up in April

David Bressoud

Frank Farris

David Stone

A new MAA President has just taken office; how can it be time for elections again? This is because the MAA allows the future Presidents a full year of President-Elect status, during which they participate in the governance of the Association and prepare for their term as President. So it is time to elect the person who will serve as President-Elect in 2008 and then as President in 2009 and 2010. We also elect the new MAA Vice-Presidents who will serve in 2008 and 2009.

The members of the Nominating Committee were Wade Ellis, Barbara Faires, Ronald Graham, Ann Watkins (chair), and Betsy Yanik. Thanks to their work, we are able to present the following candidates for the MAA national elections:


David M. Bressoud
Macalester College

Frank A. Farris
Santa Clara University

David R. Stone
Georgia Southern University

First Vice-President:

Nancy Baxter Hastings
Dickinson College

William Hawkins Jr.
University of the District of Columbia

Elizabeth Mayfield
Hood College

Second Vice-President:

Reginald U. Luke
Middlesex County College

Hortensia Soto-Johnson
University of Northern Colorado

Daniel J. Teague
NC School of Mathematics and Science

Election booklets and instructions for voting will be sent out in early April. Members will be able to vote either electronically or using paper ballots. Last date for receipt of eligible ballots is May 31, 2007. We strongly encourage all members to vote online.

News Date: 
Tuesday, March 20, 2007