You are here

JMM 2014 Awards Recipients Announced

The Mathematical Association of America will be honoring the following award winners at the 2014 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Baltimore:

Certificate for Meritorious Service

  • Lowell Beineke—Indiana Section
  • Stan Chadick—Louisiana-Mississippi Section
  • Aparna Higgins—Ohio Section
  • Tina Straley—Southeastern Section

The Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics

  • Joan Leitzel

The Chauvenet Prize

  • Ravi Vakil (Stanford University)—"The Mathematics of Doodling," The American Mathematical Monthly, February 2011, Volume 118, Number 2, pages 116-129. (pdf)

The David P. Robbins Prize

  • James Henle and Frederick Henle (Smith College and athenahealth)—"Squaring the Plane," The American Mathematical Monthly, January 2008, Volume 115, Number 1, pages 3-12. (pdf)

The Euler Book Prize

  • Steven Strogatz (Cornell University)—The Joy of x: A Guided Tour of Math, from One to Infinity, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Boston, 2012.

The Beckenbach Book Prize

  • Judith Grabiner (Pitzer College)—A Historian Looks Back: The Calculus as Algebra and Selected Writings, MAA Spectrum, 2010. 

The Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished Teaching of Mathematics

  • Gavin LaRose (University of Michigan)
  • Carl Lee (University of Kentucky)
  • Andrew Bennett (Kansas State University)

The Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student

  • Eric Larson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

The Joint Policy Board for Mathematics Communications Award

  • Danica McKellar

Read an interview with McKellar that appeared in the April 2001 issue of Math Horizons (pdf).


Awards will be presented during the Joint Prize Session on Thursday, January 16, 2014, 4:25-5:25 p.m. at the 2014 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Baltimore, Maryland. A full list of the awards to be presented by all participating societies is available here

News Date: 
Wednesday, December 4, 2013