You are here

2014 MAA Awards Recipients Announced

The Mathematical Association of America has selected the 2014 recipients for the following awards:

Carl B. Allendoerfer Award

  • Sally Cockburn (Hamilton College) and Joshua Lesperance (Oberlin College) - "Deranged Socks" Mathematics Magazine, 86:2 (2013), pp. 97-109.
  • Susan H. Marshall and Donald R. Smith (Monmouth University) - "Feedback, Control and the Distribution of Prime Numbers" Mathematics Magazine, 86:3 (2013), pp. 189-203.

Trevor Evans Award

  • Jordan Ellenberg (University of Wisconsin Madison) - "The Beauty of Bounded Gaps" Math Horizons, 21:1 (2013), pp. 5-7.

Halmos-Ford Award

  • Will Traves (United States Military Academy) - "From Pascal's Theorem to d-Constructable Curves" The American Mathematical Monthly, 120:10 (2013), pp. 901-915.
  • Tadashi Tokieda (University of Cambridge) - "Roll Models" The American Mathematical Monthly, 120:3 (2013), pp. 265-282.
  • Jacques Lévy Véhel (Inria, Regulrity team) and Franklin Mendivil (Acadia University) - "Christiane’s Hair" The American Mathematical Monthly, 120:9 (2013), pp. 771-786.
  • Susan H. Marshall (Monmouth University) and Alexander R. Perlis - "Heronian Tetrahedra Are Lattice Tetrahedra" The American Mathematical Monthly, 120:2 (2013), pp. 140-149.

Annie and John Selden Prize

  • Matthew Inglis (Loughborough University)

George Pólya Award

  • Adam E. Parker (Wittenberg University) - “Who Solved the Bernoulli Differential Equation and How Did They Do It?" The College Mathematics Journal, 44:2 (2013), pp. 89-97.
  • Christiane Rousseau (University of Montreal) - “How Inge Lehmann Discovered the Inner Core of the Earth” The College Mathematics Journal, 44:5 (2013), pp. 399-408.

Henry L. Alder Awards

  • Dominic Klyve (Central Washington University)
  • Lara Pudwell (Valparaiso University)

Mary P. Dolciani Award

  • Alan Schoenfeld (UC Berkeley)

Awards will be presented during the MAA Prize Session on Thursday, August 7, 2014, 11:30 - 11:50 a.m. at the 2014 MAA MathFest in Portland, Oregon. Winners of the Alder Award will present their work on Friday, August 8, 2014, 2:00 - 2:50 p.m.

Members are encouraged to log in and read the award-winning papers.

News Date: 
Thursday, June 26, 2014