You are here

Council and Committees List

Go back to Council List

Council on Outreach Programs

MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Prof. Elgin H JohnstonChair2/01/20161/31/2020
Charles Ray Garner Jr.Member2/01/20141/31/2017Ex Officio, Governor-at-Large for High School Teachers
Samuel R KaplanMember1/01/20151/31/2018
Katherine MorrisonMember1/01/20151/31/2018
Nancy Ann Ann NeudauerMember1/01/20111/31/2017Ex officio; Dolciani Mathematics Enrichment Grants
Sandra RichardsonMember1/01/20161/31/2018
Prof. Tatiana ShubinMember2/01/20141/31/20172nd Term
Dr. James S TantonMember2/01/20161/31/2019
Dr. Brandy S WiegersMember1/01/20161/31/2019
AMS-MAA-SIAM Joint Committee on the Porter Public Lecture
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Barry CipraChair2/01/20161/31/2017MAA Representative
Sharon ArroyoMember1/01/20141/31/2017SIAM
Kenneth GoldenMember2/01/20151/31/2018AMS Representative
Aloysius HelminckMember2/01/20141/31/2017SIAM Representative
Prof Steven H StrogatzMember2/01/20161/31/2020AMS Representative
Dr Glen T WhitneyMember9/01/20161/31/2020
Committee Charge
9/25/2013To select the speaker to give the Gerald and Judith Porter Public Lecture at the Joint Mathematics Meetings each January; the Committee makes its recommendation to the Associate Secretary of the MAA by March 1.

Committee Composition
The Committee is a joint committee of six with two members from each of AMS, MAA, SIAM; the chair of the committee will rotate among the societies. The rotation is as follows: MAA, AMS, SIAM.
College Board-MAA Joint Committee on Mutual Concerns
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
David M BressoudCo-Chair2/01/20161/31/2019
Brandan MurphyCo-Chair2/01/20161/31/2019College Board Representative
Stephen L DavisMember2/01/20161/31/2018
Benjamin HedrickMember6/17/20161/31/2020College Board Representative
Talitha M WashingtonMember1/01/20151/31/2018
Committee Charge
1/28/2011To provide the opportunity for the exchange of information and open discussion of concerns on issues of mutual interest to the College Board and the MAA.
Committee on the American Mathematics Competitions
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Prof. Elgin H JohnstonChair10/22/20146/30/2017Extended Term as Chair
Gabriel CarrollMember9/20/20166/30/2020Ex Officio, Chair of the Subcommittee on the United States Math Olympiad
Ioana DumitriuMember7/01/20156/30/2018AMS
Charles Ray Garner Jr.Member2/01/20141/31/2017Ex Officio, Governor-at-Large, High School Teachers
Dr Jerrold W GrossmanMember7/01/20146/30/2017Ex Officio, Chair, AMC 12
Jonathan M KaneMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex Officio, Chair AIME
Dr Norbert J KuenziMember7/01/20166/30/2017Ex-officio, Chair AMC 8
Dr. Carl YergerMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex Officio, Chair AMC 10
Subcommittee on the AMC 10/AMC 12 Exams
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm EndsComments
Dr Jerrold W GrossmanCo-Chair7/01/20146/30/2017Ex officio, Chair of AMC 12
Dr. Carl YergerCo-Chair7/01/20166/30/2019Ex offico, Chair of AMC-10
Marta EsoMember7/01/20146/30/20172nd Term
Jonathan M KaneMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex officio, Chair of AIME
Dr Michael John Khoury Jr.Member7/01/20146/30/2017
Dr Norbert J KuenziMember7/01/20146/30/2017Ex Officio, Chair AMC 8
Prof. Hugh L MontgomeryMember7/01/20156/30/2018
Prof. Mohamed OmarMember7/01/20166/30/2019
Subcommittee on the AMC 8 Exam
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm EndsComments
Dr Norbert J KuenziChair7/01/20166/30/2017
Bruce E BrombacherMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Dr. Barbara Ann CurrierMember7/01/20146/30/2017
John A FrohligerMember7/01/20166/30/2019
Mr Joshua FrostMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Qiang ShiMember7/01/20156/30/2018
Mr Jeganathan J SriskandarajahMember7/01/20156/30/2018
Dr. Carl YergerMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex Officio, Chair AMC 10
Subcommittee on the American Invitational Mathematics Exam
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm EndsComments
Jonathan M KaneChair7/01/20166/30/2019
Steven E BlasbergMember7/01/20166/30/2019
Gabriel CarrollMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex officio, Chair USAMO
Zuming FengMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Dr Ellina GrigorievaMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Dr Jerrold W GrossmanMember7/01/20146/30/2017Chair AMC 12
Tamas SzaboMember7/01/20156/30/20182nd Term
Prof. David M WellsMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Dr. David Jacob WildstromMember7/01/20146/30/2017
Subcommittee on the United States Math Olympiad
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm EndsComments
Gabriel CarrollChair7/01/20166/30/2019
Dr. Titu AndreescuMember7/01/20166/30/2019
Zuming FengMember7/01/20156/30/20182nd Term
Dr. Razvan GelcaMember7/01/20156/30/20182nd Term
Prof. Sidney W GrahamMember7/01/20156/30/20182nd Term
Mr John G KaneMember7/01/20166/30/2019Ex Officio, Chair of the subcommittee on the American Invitational Mathemetics Exam
Kiran S KedlayaMember7/01/20156/30/2017
Melanie E Matchett-WoodMember7/01/20166/30/2019
MAA Representative to Mu Alpha Theta
MAA-NCTM Joint Committee on Mutual Concerns
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Michael E BoardmanChair1/10/20141/31/2017NCTM Representative
Prof. Elizabeth A BurroughsMember2/01/20151/31/2018Ex Officio, Chair of COMET
Jane Ries CushmanMember1/01/20151/31/2018MAA Representative
Eileen F LeeMember1/01/20141/30/2017MAA representative
Dr. Lee Gregory WindspergerMember1/01/20151/31/2018MAA Representative
Committee Charge
1/08/2015To provide the opportunity for the exchange of information and open discussion of concerns on issues of mutual interest to the MAA and the NCTM.

To promote communication between the MAA and NCTM on internal and external activities and programs that are of mutual interest.

Activities of the committee can include, among other things, developing joint proposals and position statements, commissioning articles in appropriate venues, and sponsoring presentations at meetings of the MAA and NCTM.

Committee Compostition
Six-members committee, composed of three representatives of NCTM and three of MAA.

This committee was established in 2005